What would “The Endless River” mean for Pink Floyd?

By Jessie-Jamz

Pink Floyd will always hold a place so dear in my heart. After all, they were a pivotal band for me in terms of production and thematic conceptualization in their music. Albums like – which I am sure very many of you know of – ‘Dark Side of the Moon’ and ‘The Wall’ were and still are so rich in production and lyrical themes. It is no coincidence that Pink Floyd LPs have stood the test of time. They are timeless. And with the announcement of a new album entitled ‘The Endless River’ set to be released in October 2014, the overwhelming fangasms around the world is sure to be felt.

However, I can see the opinions of many fans and critics be panned. Could the album just be an effortless tracklist of songs released just to make a little extra cash? Is this maybe 20 years too late? And did I mention that the songs was said only to be instrumentals from sessions of ‘The Division Bell’ back in 1994, which was and still is a very criticized effort in the Pink Floyd discography? So from here, I can see how reactions of the new LP’s release can be split.

However, personally I am thrilled to hear that, despite the band’s lineup massively reduced since the death of keyboardist extraordinaire Richard Wright, never-before-heard songs from one of my favorite musical groups is being released very soon. I have always been a fan of ‘The Division Bell’ ever since I first heard it. Even though I consider it to be somewhat more of a David Gilmour solo record, the album’s lush and ethereal soundscapes still have a profound impact on me, so I can say that I am very much looking forward to hearing ‘The Endless River.’

Leave a Reply

